The Wedding Photographers kit bag

album059

So as the summer wedding seasons starts in earnest in my area of East Anglia and I’ve been dusting down and cleaning up my kit.  I always had in my mind I wanted to travel “light” – that is get away with the minimum amount of kit I could to do the job!

However I’ve just laid out my Nikon D3, Nikon D800, 24-70mm F2.8, 105mm F2.8 Macro, 70-200mm F2.8, 50mm F1.4, SB-900 Flashlight, Lastolite reflector, Lastolite Diffuser, Lencarta Portable 600Ws Safari Li-On lighting system, Lencarta Portable Softbox, Bowens Heavy Duty Light Stands 😉 Phew!!!

album057

That’s too much kit than I want to be carrying around venues to be honest so I’m going to work on revising this list and even possibly add a couple of prime lenses for the 2015 season to see if I can actually lose some weight from my kit bag. I’d rather be prepared for any eventuality but I think I can force myself to work smarter and possibly better with less kit – kind of a “less is more” type attitude.

album74

We recently shot a couple of beautiful weddings in Buckinghamshire and for one client had a beautiful time capturing images she wanted purely in black and white. Was great to have to take the shots in colour but have in my mind that it was the details and contrast that would work once they were converted to B+W. I do love the simplicity of a black and white image and was fortunate to have such a lovely and understanding bridal model under my direction – many thanks Maria Mann and fiancee Stefan

album058

Some beautiful weather here in the UK at the moment and some perfect natural light to look out for and find – keep those eyes open folks 🙂

http://www.joseph-george.co.uk

Leave a Reply

