My Friend – the Nikon 70-200mm F2.8 and her companions

Portrait Photography

Lens lust!! Two words that get thrown around the photography world to describe the need for that “ultimate” lens or the latest version of your now slightly ageing lens. We’ve probably all been there – I know I certainly have, alongside camera lust and lighting lust (think I made those up!) but nowadays, amazingly I am happy and content with my little lens collection! I think when you are starting out in Photography (and we all started out at some point regardless of our experience nowadays) you strive to get your hands on anything you feel may help you get that better image, that sharper landscape or that narrower depth of field.

Portrait Photography

I now have in my collection – 4 Lenses.

1 x 50mm F1.8 Lens, 1 x 24-70mm F2.8 Lens, 1 x 70-200mm F2.8 Lens and 1 x 105mm F2.8 Macro lens.

Shooting a lot of people the main Lens I reach for is my trusty 70-200mm F2.8.

I love this lens and its quality and it’s ability to detach the subject from the background and isolate what ultimately you are shooting at. Yes it’s expensive and yes it maybe a luxury and at the end of the day a good lens (or camera for that matter) does not make a good photograph. But I know if I get my composition right and the subject matter is right – the 70-200 nails it almost everytime.

Portrait Photography

If you get the opportunity to try one out – and it’s becoming easier nowadays to hire and rent kit – then I highly recommend it although it may start another bout of lens lust so be careful 😉

_WED5639

www.joseph-george.co.uk

Leave a Reply

